Wednesday, 24 June 2020

Elena Reviews: The Great Gatsby By F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby

Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald

Publication Date: April 1924

Genres: Fiction, Classic
Young, handsome and fabulously rich, Jay Gatsby is the bright star of the Jazz Age, but as writer Nick Carraway is drawn into the decadent orbit of his Long Island mansion, where the party never seems to end, he finds himself faced by the mystery of Gatsby's origins and desires. Beneath the shimmering surface of his life, Gatsby is hiding a secret: a silent longing that can never be fulfilled. And soon, this destructive obsession will force his world to unravel.

In The Great Gatsby, Fitzgerald brilliantly captures both the disillusionment of post-war America and the moral failure of a society obsessed with wealth and status. But he does more than render the essence of a particular time and place, for in chronicling Gatsby's tragic pursuit of his dream, Fitzgerald re-creates the universal conflict between illusion and reality.

Thursday, 4 June 2020

Reading Historical Romance in Public - Discuss and Wonder #14

Hello guys and welcome to another discussion post! I had a lot of inspiration these past couple of days and wrote down a list of future discussion posts that I want to schedule, but if you have any recommendations, make sure to leave them in the comments! I've also been thinking of turning this into a weekly feature, but I'll have to plan it a bit better and actually come up with more than a couple of months worth of topics for it to work. 

Today, we're here to discuss something that came to mind completely by accident and I just had to sort through before attempting to write my thoughts down and share them with you. That is

Thursday, 21 May 2020

What Are You Reading? Wednesday #1 - The ''It's Too Much'' Edition

Hello everyone and welcome to another post at Book Lady's Reviews! I decided to share what I' m currently reading with you today, using a feature I kept seeing a lot in the past, but could not find a link to the original creator of! I'm thinking about incorporating it into my weekly schedule, since I feel like it will give me a chance to talk about the books I'm reading, without necessarily posting a review afterwards. I try to write a review about every single book that I read, but when you're an avid reader, it can definitely get overwhelming. Especially when it comes to sequels or poetry books that I'm really fond of or academic related titles that I want to talk about, but have no idea whether someone will actually be interested in. Does that make sense? I hope to provide you guys with a look into my everyday reading by posting this feature at least once per week, while keeping track of my reading process and writing down my -mostly unfiltered- thoughts on the books I'm reading. Then, you can let me know which books you're interested in reading detailed reviews on and which ones don't really interest you that much. That would be a very helpful feedback, which will definitely provide me with some insight into what I can focus on, as a reviewer and blogger!

Make sure to let me know what you're currently reading and of course, what you plan on reading next! And, without further ado, these are the three books I'm kind of in the middle of reading at the moment!

Thursday, 7 May 2020

Elena Reviews: Murphy's Law {Molly Murphy #1} By Rhys Bowen

Title: Murphy's Law

{Molly Murphy #1} 

Author: Rhys Bowen

Publication Date: December 2002

Genres: Historical Fiction, Mystery

Murphy's Law is the captivating first entry of Rhys Bowen's New York Times bestselling Molly Murphy series.

Molly Murphy always knew she'd end up in trouble, just as her mother predicted. So, when she commits murder in self-defense, she flees her cherished Ireland, under cover of a false identity, for the anonymous shores of late nineteenth-century America. When she arrives in New York and sees the welcoming promise of freedom in the Statue of Liberty, Molly begins to breathe easier. But when a man is murdered on Ellis Island, a man Molly was seen arguing with, she becomes a prime suspect in the crime.

If she can't clear her name, Molly will be sent back to Ireland where the gallows await, so using her Irish charm and sharp wit, she escapes Ellis Island and sets out to find the wily killer on her own. Pounding the notorious streets of Hell's Kitchen and the Lower East Side, Molly undertakes a desperate mission to clear her name before her deadly past comes back to haunt her new future.

Sunday, 3 May 2020

Stacking the Shelves - ''Still Not Broke'' Edition

Hello  guys and welcome to one of my favorite posts to upload on the blog, Stacking the Shelves, which is hosted by the wonderful Tynga's Reviews. I did do some more damage, but decided to only include the books that have actually arrived and hope -fingers crossed- that the packages I'm waiting for since the beginning of April will get here before this month is over! I did purchase these throughout the past couple of months and have read some of them, just a small disclaimer! 

Let me know whether you've read any of the books featured in today's post and which titles you have recently added to your shelves!

Tuesday, 28 April 2020

Most Anticipated Book Releases - May Edition!

Hello guys and welcome to May's most anticipate releases! These are some of my favorite posts to put together, even though I've fallen a bit behind lately! Thought I'd pick up exactly from where I left off and start scheduling them again! Make sure to let me know if you plan on reading any of the books featured in today's post and, of course, comment down below with your most anticipated book release!

Thursday, 16 April 2020

Elena Reviews: Among the Mad {Maisie Dobbs #6} By Jacqueline Winspear

Title: Among the Mad

{Maisie Dobbs #6}

Author: Jacqueline Winspear

Publication Date: March 1st, 2010

Genres: Historical Mystery

In the thrilling new novel by the 'New York Times' bestselling author of 'An Incomplete Revenge', Maisie Dobbs must catch a madman before he commits murder on an unimaginable scale.

It's Christmas Eve 1931. On the way to see a client, Maisie Dobbs witnesses a man commit suicide on a busy London street. The following day, the prime minister's office receives a letter threatening a massive loss of life if certain demands are not met - and the writer mentions Maisie by name.

After being questioned and cleared by Detective Chief Superintendent Robert MacFarlane of Scotland Yard's elite Special Branch, she is drawn into MacFarlane's personal fiefdom as a special adviser on the case. Meanwhile, Billy Beale, Maisie's trusted assistant, is once again facing tragedy as his wife, who has never recovered from the death of their young daughter, slips further into melancholia's abyss. 

Soon Maisie becomes involved in a race against time to find a man who proves he has the knowledge and will to inflict death and destruction on thousands of innocent people. And before this harrowing case is over, Maisie must navigate a darkness not encountered since she was a nurse in wards filled with shell-shocked men.

In 'Among the Mad', Jacqueline Winspear combines a heart-stopping story with a rich evocation of a fascinating period to create her most compelling and satisfying novel yet.