Monday, 26 April 2021

Elena Reviews: Ruined {Ruined #1} By Amy Tintera

 Title: Ruined

{Ruined #1}

Author: Amy Tintera 

Publication Date: May 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

A revenge that will consume her. A love that will ruin her.

Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war. She lacks the powers of her fellow Ruined. Worst of all, she witnessed her parents’ brutal murders and watched helplessly as her sister, Olivia, was kidnapped.

But because Em has nothing, she has nothing to lose. Driven by a blind desire for revenge, Em sets off on a dangerous journey to the enemy kingdom of Lera. Somewhere within Lera’s borders, Em hopes to find Olivia. But in order to find her, Em must infiltrate the royal family.

In a brilliant, elaborate plan of deception and murder, Em marries Prince Casimir, next in line to take Lera’s throne. If anyone in Lera discovers Em is not Casimir’s true betrothed, Em will be executed on the spot. But it’s the only way to salvage Em’s kingdom and what is left of her family.

Em is determined to succeed, but the closer she gets to the prince, the more she questions her mission. Em’s rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life—and her family—on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

Thursday, 11 March 2021

Blog Tour - Moments Like This By Anna Gomez & Kristoffer Polaha {Review & Giveaway!}

 Hello guys and welcome to a promotional post for Moments Like This by Anna Gomez & Kristoffer Polaha!Title: Moments Like This

{From Kona With Love #1}

Authors: Anna Gomez & Kristoffer Polaha

Publication Date: March 9th, 2021

Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

After Andrea “Andie” Matthews chooses her career over a marriage proposal and then loses a promotion she worked so hard for, she jumps at the chance to take a break and help run a friend’s coffee shop.


Alone in Hawaii, Andie befriends the staff and quickly grows to care for them, making her determined to revive the company.

As luck would have it, she meets the mysterious Warren Yates on Christmas Eve. They share a cup of coffee, some conversation, and even a moment, which leads to many more in the coming weeks.

But when Andie learns who Warren really is—and what he actually wants—she is torn between her feelings and his deception.

Will Warren be able to win her heart back?

Monday, 8 March 2021

Reading Wrap-up - February Edition!

 

Hello guys and welcome to a brand new post! Today, I'm here to share with you the books that I managed to read during the month of February! The new year has brought back my thirst for reading tenfold and I'm on a roll so I obviously had to share my progress with you! It's not that I didn't read at all throughout the last couple of years, but being an actual adult has cost me time away from doing things I love and cherish, one of them being my beloved ritual of forgetting about the world itself and getting completely lost in a book! I read a total of seven books in February and in this post, I'm going to rate them, give you guys a brief overview of my thoughts and tell you whether I recommend them or not! I was thinking about including a to be read list, but I'm such a mood reader that I have no idea what I might be up to reading in March so I'm just going with the flow, as always!

How many books did you manage to read during February? Make sure to let me know whether you enjoyed them or not in the comments!

Thursday, 18 February 2021

Blog Tour - A Beauty So Cruel (Beauty & the Beast #1) by Beena Khan {Review & Giveaway}

 A  Beauty So Cruel

{Beauty & the Beast #1}

Author: Beena Khan

Publication Date: February 14th, 2021

Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance


I was a beauty, a stray orphan until the beast took me as his hostage.


Once upon a time...
A Don by the name of Vlad Vitalli ruled New York. He's a mafia man. The leader of one of the ruling families, La Cosa Nostra. He's a monster. A trained killer and a cold-blooded murderer. Tall, mysterious, with icy gray eyes, and he rarely smiles. He's a criminal. Ruthless, cold, dangerous, and is going to kill me.

I was the wrong person at the wrong time.
An innocent at the masquerade ball but I witnessed a murder. The mafia has rules: no witnesses left behind. To save my life, I made a deal with the beast. I handed myself to the cruelest man in the kingdom.

For him, It was supposed to be an easy kill. I'm an orphan raised in poverty. Just as Don Vlad was about to order the hit, I threw off my masquerade mask, revealing my face, and offered myself to him. One look and I was doomed. He took me as his hostage. His captive. He didn't know by taking me, Dahlia Hadid, he sealed his own fate.

Welcome to New York's Underworld.
Loosely based on the fairytale.

{Amazon}

Thursday, 11 February 2021

Elena Reviews: Blades of Magic {Crown Service #1} By Terah Edun

 Title: Blades of Magic

{Crown Service #1}

Author: Terah Edun

Publication Date: March 2014

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy


It is not a peaceful time in the Algardis Empire. War is raging between the mages and seventeen-year-old Sara Fairchild will be right in the middle of it.

She just doesn't know it yet.

Sara is the daughter of a disgraced imperial commander, executed for desertion. Sara is also the best duelist and hand-to-hand combatant in Sandrin. She lives quietly with her family’s shame but when challenged about her family’s honor, her opponent inevitably loses.

On the night she finds out her father’s true last actions, she takes the Mercenary Guilds’ vows to serve in the emperor’s army. Using her quick wits and fierce fighting skills, she earns a spot in the first division.

There she discovers secrets the mages on both sides would prefer stay hidden. Dark enemies hunt her and soon it's not just Sara questioning the motivation behind this war.

While fighting mages, blackmailing merchants and discovering new friends, Sara comes across something she’s never had before - passion. The question is - can she fight for her empress against a mage who might unwittingly claim her heart?

This is year one of the Initiate Wars. Sara is hoping it doesn't become the year she dies.

Saturday, 6 February 2021

Blog Tour - Beautiful Facade By Kathryn S. Rose {Excerpt & Giveaway!}

 

Beautiful Facade

Author: Kathryn S. Rose

Publication Date: February 2021

Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance

On the day that 16-year-old Winter Starling had her life and dreams shattered by
a sexual assault, she meets Kai, a boy from her high school obsessed with music. They develop a deep friendship, which comes to an abrupt end when Kai unexpectedly has to leave. Winter has no idea why he went or any way to contact him.
Ten years pass, and Winter has constructed a new reality for herself. Now living in Melbourne, she has a successful career in advertising and is engaged to Liam King, a star player in Australian Rules Football. Winter has a perfect life.

During a night out, Winter runs into Kai, now the lead singer of ‘The Stonevilles.’ Winter and Kai rekindle their friendship, and to everyone around them, their attraction is evident. With Kai back in her life, Winter’s past threatens to ruin her relationship with Liam and everything she has worked to achieve. But can she risk losing Kai a second time?
Emotional and edgy, Beautiful Facade is about love, loss, healing, self-discovery, and the messy battle between one’s head and one’s heart.

Wednesday, 13 January 2021

Book Blitz - Simply You by Maggie Wild {Excerpt & Giveaway!}

 Hello guys and welcome to the promotional post for Maggie Wild's new novel, Simply You! Make sure to get a glimpse of the book itself  through the excerpt attached and enter the Giveaway at the very end of the page!

Title: Simply You

Author: Maggie Wild

Publication Date: January 12th

Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

She needs someone she can count on. He’s gun-shy after being hurt. Can a brush with fate in a rained-out English village turn into enduring love?

Sarah Tildon thinks she’s found the perfect man. But after her overbearing future mother-in-law insists her quiet country wedding become a high-society shindig, she sets out on a two-week ride to rethink her plans. Stranded when her bicycle is stolen in a picturesque hamlet, she’s touched by the kindness of a handsome young farmer who comes to her rescue.

The big city failed Michael Marsden’s ample ambitions. After his fiancĂ©e cheats on him, he turns his back on the hustle and bustle and takes on a farm to prove he can lead a self-sufficient life. And taken by surprise when a charming outsider helps sing his hens into laying, he realizes his newfound Eden is missing its Eve.

Unexpectedly falling for the sweet homesteader, Sarah is torn between the security of a gilded cage and the precarious freedom of raising chickens. And when her fiancĂ© arrives to bring her back to London, Michael fears she’ll leave him with yet another shattered heart.

Will this unlikely couple throw caution to the wind and embrace a destined second chance?

Simply You is the first book in the heartwarming Hope Valley Romance series. If you like fun heroines, pastoral backdrops, and endearing courtships, then you’ll adore Maggie Wild’s sweet tale.